Instagram Anyone?

image

Social media sites have been, ironically, the constant banter on every social media site of which I am a current user. The world groans as another company claims intellectual property of its users, as its own. Once something is shared on the internet, everyone else decides to grab it up with their greedy, money hungry paws.

It is disappointing that there is no value for unique thought. Sites are basically calling dibs on anything brilliant that you say or capture with your camera. We hesitate to say no because the convenience factor plays a tremendous part in it all.

But all of this causes me pause for a different reason. As a Christian, I hold strongly to the reality that I am imago dei. I was made in God’s image. When I was formed in my mother’s womb, I was signed with God’s Spirit. And when I claimed Christ as my Lord and Savior, the Holy Spirit became a seal. All of me belongs to God.

Except when I try to rewrite the Terms and Conditions policy. I will accept that God made me, but somewhere along the way I am also going to decide that I can take credit for what He does.

I don’t think I’m the only one. But, grace abounds. I don’t deserve it. Neither do you. Grace is unmerited favor. Grace cannot be earned. We can reject God’s grace, yet He continues to rain it down anyway.

I am humbled and awestruck at how God doesn’t do the equivalent of deleting an account, but rather sends grace enough to cover over the moments I try to remain in control.

I’m learning, daily, that I must relinquish control and let Him have the stage. He is the author and perfector of my faith.

What about you? Do you wrestle with control?

4 thoughts on “Instagram Anyone?

    • After getting a degree in Bible and Religion I have found myself finding the sacred in the secular. My thoughts generally wander down these sorts of paths. Thanks for the comment, Katie. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

