On being a nanny

image

“Miss Ashley, she punched me in the face and then laughed about it.”
“Miss Ashley, can I have a snack? Can I have a snack? Please please please.”

Being a nanny means that I hear my name so many times in one day that I sometimes don’t respond to it in the evenings because I’m so accustomed to the sound. It means that I wipe snotty noses, dirty bumpuses and food covered faces. I see toys that become a sea of disasters strewn across every possible room.

Being a nanny means that some days I start out as Mary Poppins and end as Cruella Deville.

A lot of people assume that my job is nothing more than a glorified babysitter. It is easy to presume that I come to work, supervise kids, and call it quits at the end of the day. But there is no gratification or satisfaction in just being a babysitter. This is something I have been allowed to throw my whole heart and soul into over the course of the past year and a half.

These children are my littles and I am their Miss Ashley. There is an air of possessiveness that I would not trade with anyone. I am integrated into the family life. I see mom and dad with bed hair and no makeup and, inversely, looking highly professional (as they both are), and often in the same day. I have made more breakfasts, lunches, and dinners than I care to estimate. I have snuggle time with the girls. We have plenty of craft time. And I have supervised quite a few time outs.

I love these girls. I love this family. And I belong in it. And I don’t ever doubt that for a second.

Sure, it seems like a babysitting gig to many. But I am blessed with the opportunity to spend my days with these precious angels. I get to see the world through the eyes of these darling little girls. And nothing can replace that.

I would have never picked this profession for myself. But now that I am here, I cannot fathom doing anything else. I love it. I absolutely love it. And I am so thankful. So very very thankful.

What about you? What do you do for a paycheck? What would you rather be doing?

10 thoughts on “On being a nanny

  1. this sounds so wonderful! i can’t wait to be out of school and able to work with kids again. it’s the most rewarding thing. i’m especially jealous of cuddle time and craft time. 🙂 right now, i’m just a part time social networker. it’s not a bad job by any means, but it’s just not nearly as rewarding!

    • Katie,
      Thank you. 🙂
      It is, single-handedly the most rewarding job that I have ever had. It is incredible to belong to this family. The girls definitely change my persepective on life.

      I don’t even know what I will do when they no longer require me as a nanny. I have job security with another on the way, but I can’t imagine finding a new family, or working with any other kids.

      I hope you get some time to work with kiddos soon. I think it is amazing. 🙂

  2. Hey thanks for checking out my blog (Mr. Oh So Wrong)! I’m a nanny too & sometimes it is so hard for people to understand why I LOVE my job so much. Working with kids is the most rewarding thing, wouldn’t trade it for the world =)

Leave a Reply

