Directionally Challenged.

image

Isaiah 30:21 And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left. (ESV)

I’m directionally challenged. I’m not even going to try to defend myself. I don’t know the difference between north, south, east or west. I do well to navigate through the city in which I live, or back in my hometown for that matter.

I have become very reliant on my phone’s GPS in order to get me to unfamiliar territory. I wish that I were better at navigation, I don’t know if that’s a skill that is inherited or learned. I don’t know if I’m a hopeless case, or if there is hope for me yet.

I do know that spiritually I am thankful for the Holy Spirit. Before I came to Christ I called the little bit of morality I had my conscience. And I firmly believe that God set a moral compass in all of creation. It is rustic when dulled by the sensuality of the world. But it is updated and enhanced when the Spirit is allowed to come and make His home.

There have been many times when I don’t know how I know it, but I just know something is the right choice. And, in retrospect, the only true explanation is the supernatural.

Because of the Spirit as my indwelling moral compass I know when a word aptly spoken can lighten a heavy spirit. Because of the Holy Spirit I know when I should flee from a temptation coming my way.

Some people label it as their gut or their intuition. I am incredibly thankful that I know it is the power of the Holy Spirit at work within me. The same power that rose from the grave, conquering death once and for all, that’s my spiritual GPS.

Leave a Reply

