Hey Jejune..

yesterday became tomorrow 012

je·june (j-jn)
adj.
1. Not interesting; dull
2. Lacking maturity; childish
3. Lacking in nutrition

I have always fancied myself a collector of non-tangible things. I do not thrill to acquire items lacking function that, ultimately, collect dust in my apartment. So, instead, I collect facts about people that I know. I memorize that favorite candies of my friends. I learn the things that they consider their “favorites”. I have a special memory-room in my brain for the laughs of the people that I encounter. I have a whole filing cabinet of the words the I love to dissect.

Today’s word is jejune. It is a fun word to say out loud. Come on, you know you want to.

And when I was thinking about this word, I remembered my dear, sweet friend Ursula. She was a very wonderful gem and a strong impact in my life for the time that I spent with her in college. Her laughter was the most contagious explosion, and you couldn’t help but want to be a part of the excitement when it began. She taught me one very valuable lesson of which I have never lost sight.

Maturity is knowing when it is okay to be immature. 

And I really do hope that I live my life in a way that is true to that statement. I am a nanny. I cannot escape silly jokes, potty humor, and things that only toddlers would find funny. I spend most of my time consuming entertainment geared towards babies and toddlers. I also enjoy laughter so much that I don’t really mind if people looking in on my conversations with friends, begin to wonder if there is something wrong with us.

I also have to remind myself that people’s perception of me is not intended to be my ultimate goal for approval or disapproval. However, it is supposed to guide some of the ways that I interact with the world around me. I have to live a life that shows my Jesus as one that is magnetic, worthy of following, and a Gospel that will draw people in if they hear it without prejudice.

How would you define maturity? How would you rate maturity and the importance of it when trying to display the Gospel?

Leave a comment