Weight Loss

Making Assumptions 021I have really grown accustomed to reserving the weekends to talk about whatever happens to cross my mind when I sit down to post a new entry. However, with so many crazy life changes happening all around me, I think that this Wildcard Weekend business is going to become my Weight-loss Weekend post.

This is coming at a pivotal moment in my life. I am a nanny! I love being a nanny! I relish the time that I have with the darling angels that I watch on a consistent basis. But, there is another one arriving VERY VERY soon! And that means that I am probably going to be stressed.

And stress only leads me down this dark treacherous path of being an emotional eater. Now, that shouldn’t be a terrible thing, right? What’s wrong with a few bad snacks every once in a while? Well, it stops being every once in a while. And then it becomes all of the stinking time. And I can’t handle that. I have 100+lbs that I need to lose to be considered in the healthy weight range for my height. That is scary. It is intimidating. It kind of makes me want to bust out some oreos and talk to them about my feelings.

But that’s what my life is going to turn into over the next few months. I am going to guard myself against that emotional eating. It terrifies me to lose control of my calories when I come home at the end of the day and zone out. I am going to get this weight off and keep it off.

I’ve said it before. And many times before that. I don’t know that it is going to be different. It will be different because I can’t afford to keep living life this way. It isn’t that I have some unhealthy hatred of myself. I have grown tired of self-absorption. I like who I am. I am funny! I tell good stories! I’m pretty! I smell nice (most of the time)! I care about other people! And the ugly parts of my heart are what I am working on through Bible study and devotional times. Why can’t I work on making my outside pretty too?

Now, I’m not saying that I believe that you have to look a certain way to be beautiful. I think everyone has tremendous beauty, and I can’t even articulate the ways that people around me are beautiful without turning into a sobbing mess. I truly believe that people are beautiful with all of their flaws and shortcomings and quirks and differences. But, I want to be healthy.

So my friend, Ashley (name twin!) and I are challenging ourselves. May 17th is my first deadline. By May 17th I want to have lost 20lbs.

How do I resolve to do that?

  1. Continue to let Jillian Micheals make me cry like a baby as I keep pressing forward with 30 Day Shred.
  2. Move onto a Biggest Loser DVD when I finish the 30 Day Shred.
  3. Incorporate Running into my life again. (I love it. Then I hate it. Then I hate that I love it. Then I love that I hate it. I just need to stop making excuses and start doing it. I’m the only one holding me back.)
  4. Eat better. Now I’ve been doing 30 Day Shred, 12 days now. And I’m losing inches. But I’m not losing weight. Why? Because I’m a wreck in the kitchen. And I snack mindlessly. And I drink too much juice and lemonade and tea. I’m done with those things.
  5. So by eat better, I really mean eat better. I’m counting calories. Myfitnesspal : copiousmusings (be friends?)
  6. Tracking progress once a week.

So you will see my updates on my weight-loss journey during the weekend. Don’t care to learn about it? That’s okay, just tune me out during the weekend. But, motivation is going to be a driving force for me. I am excited/nervous/scared/sore/loving that this is all going into this opportunity to make this year the BEST YEAR EVER.

 

12 thoughts on “Weight Loss

    • It is exciting. Calorie counting is definitely my least favorite part of it all. I really need to relearn portion control and let my body tell me when it is full, rather than mindlessly snack. I am excited that I have a friend who wants to join me on motivating me and such. It will definitely be an interesting adventure. 76 more days to lose 20lbs is a totally doable goal. And then we will set a new one. It is really exciting. Good luck on your journey!

  1. I’m excited to read your weekend posts! It is definitely a hard thing to do, but the euphoria from reaching goals — be that a number on the scale, a certain amount of miles/reps/sets, or a pair of goal jeans — makes up for it.

    I have an app on my phone called Lose it. It’s incredible for counting calories. It can certainly become obsessive (I have an addiction personality anyway), but it really is helpful!

    Jillian Michael’s is a god. The last chance workout DVD is challenging, but really incredible!

    Best of luck, and make sure to forgive yourself along the way. That’s so important.

    – allie

    • I do love Jillian. She is definitely challenging me. And I already feel my body changing. I have done 14 of the 30 days. Level 2 is definitely significantly harder than Level 1. But I like being challenged.

      I’m obsessed with myfitnesspal. I do so much better with accountability & having Ashley to encourage me and challenge me is exciting. We talk about food and exercising.

      We also have motivational boards on our individual Pinterest accounts both titled Disappearing Ashley that has motivation for the other. Just having constant support is wonderful.

      And I know that they will challenge me as I continue.

  2. Good luck! Those sound like great goals! I am trying to be healthier too. This week I’ve eating wayyyy better but when I don’t see instant results it’s discouraging. You can do it!

    • I am really impressed with the results that I have been seeing. Working out is such a wonderful natural high. Your body gets elated with endorphins and adrenaline, and even though it is tough to get through workouts, it is amazing how much you feel you’ve accomplished at the end of one.

      I am definitely the sort that wants to run into the bathroom and weigh myself right after a workout, because some make me feel like I should have been 100 pounds lighter already.

      But I know that my body is changing. And it is getting stronger. And ultimately, I’m going to sweat like a pig so that I can look like a fox!

  3. i’m so proud of you! i think you’ve developed some goals that are possible are very doable, but are still challenging. you’ve got this! 🙂

    i tried to add you on myfitnesspal, but i can’t figure out how to add someone just from their username! if you know how, add me at “katkatikatie.” i always love having more friends on there! all my real life ones quit on me after a few weeks, ha.

    • I added you & saw that you’ve added me back. 😀

      I think that’s why I have given up in the past. I only wanted to focus on the end goal, and didn’t celebrate small victories along the way. I got caught up in chasing a huge number, so the 10lb weight loss never seemed significant. But to lose 10lbs now will be halfway to this goal!

  4. I will be praying for your strength in all of this. I too, along with Faith, are trying to eat healthier and exercise more. I don’ t have a set weight loss or goal, just one step at a time. So maybe we can encourage each other!

  5. Way to go Miss Ashley! You’ve got your mind in the right place, that’s the important part. Writing about it can go a long way in helping, you’ll find lots of support that will surprise and motivate you.
    -A fellow blogger

Leave a Reply

