Weight loss woes

image

I wish that I could say that I still maintain the same level of enthusiasm that I possessed at the onset of my weight loss journey. (Don’t fear! This isn’t some confession of falling off the healthy living wagon.) My ideas of weight loss have already dramatically changed in a few weeks’ time.

I’ve already learn some lessons on my adventure for which I am thankful.

One. This is a process that is done more easily with support. There is nothing easy about weight loss. True and effective weight loss requires patience, determination, and a lifestyle change. But, having people to remind you that a honey bun won’t fix your feelings is so beautiful.
Two. You can cut calories and exercise all you want. But if you don’t let your system have enough calories to produce basic metabolic function, then your body starts storing all of your food as fat to protect itself from starvation mode. So don’t cut your caloric intake in thirds. You have to slowly lower it. Slow weight loss (1-2lbs per week) is healthy and the most proven for sustainable weight loss.
Three. It is trial and error. What works for you isn’t going to work for anyone else. You find what you love to do for exercise. You give up junk food. And you replace it with healthy food that you love.
Four. Learn to love the process not just the results.
Five. Be excited about every small accomplishment. It isn’t just about numbers going down on the scale. You lose inches in this process. You give up junk for periods of time. You crave it less. That is celebration worthy! You get stronger. And you look way hotter in your clothes!

So my enthusiasm is no longer blind uneducated expectations. It is now about small celebrations every day.ย 

2 thoughts on “Weight loss woes

  1. You couldn’t be more right! All of those points are true- specially the first one! I am always terrible when I want to get healthy because I won’t tell people incase I totally fail and then I would feel much worse but slowly starting to realise that support is actually good! Well done on your weight loss journey ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Ellen. It really does help to have accountability. The biggest bonus of my journey has been having people to do it with me. Get friends on board! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

