Non Scale Victories

image

My weight loss adventure hasn’t been a long one, but it has already taught me so much about myself. The changes that I see for myself aren’t monumental. My guns aren’t going to make anyone stop dead in their tracks. No one is going to notice all of the small, miniscule changes along the way. But I notice them!

My friends and I began a weight loss campaign a couple of weeks ago. I knew that I wanted to lose 20lbs by May 17th. That isn’t my ultimate goal by any means, but it was my starting point. Presently I am 12lbs away from achieving my goal! Those are 8lbs that I didn’t lose, I got rid of them for good.

I finished Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred! I started this before our competition. At the end? I lost inches and 19lbs that I’m never going to see again.

Part of my journey also encompasses growing spiritually and emotionally on this adventure. I have to tend to all aspects of my person in order to be successful in any. So I do a lot of celebrating. In order to do that, I have to admit that non-scale victories are just as, if not more, important than decreasing numbers on my scale.

1. My clothes fit better or are too big.
2. My stamina has doubled. I don’t get winded going up hills or stairs.
3. My muscles are making their debut.
4. I crave healthy foods not junk. I want fruits and veggies not candy and chips.

And it only improves from here. These aren’t fad diet choices. The food changes are for good. Exercise is enjoyable. My body is being fueled and boy do I love it!

Leave a Reply

