Progress Report

progress reportThe left hand side of this picture is me this past week. The right hand side is me on February 19th.

I swear that all 25-26lbs that I lost came from my face alone.

I know that this phenomenon is common with people in their weight loss journey. Every day that I see my face in the mirror, I don’t recognize any noticeable differences. Because I am constantly seeing the same face. The changes are subtle from day-to-day, but they are remarkable from the past to present.

I have to keep myself motivated by non-scale victories. They keep me feeling amped and excited about the process. There are many days when I just have to trust the process even when the scale is going up and my pants are getting even more loose.

I had a pair of jeans that I really enjoyed wearing a lot in college. I always used them as a means of gauging my weight loss, because as I gained, they got tighter. And when I could wear them again I would be college weight. (This matters, because in college, I never got near a scale.) I put them on this past week. Know what happened? I needed a belt!

And the entire time I was spent with self talk about how I would be okay even if they didn’t fit quite yet. I can’t see the changes in my body, not always. But I can feel myself getting stronger. When I move my arms or legs and notice the new definition in muscles not previously defined? My mind is blown.

I wish there was a secret formula for quick results. But nothing that you get for free will be considered priceless. I believe there is a time and place in aiding weight loss. However, there are times when I wish that people would give an earnest effort to working out and eating natural, non-processed, healthy foods before they turn to chemical-laden products. 

Part of my journey is losing weight. Another aspect is to eat natural and clean foods as often as possible. That means a lot more veggies, whole grains, and fruits. I don’t want to fill my body with more chemicals after working so hard to detox it from the garbage I’ve filled it with previously. And the last aspect is to really work on muscle and strength building.

Building muscle is tough. I hate handweights. I hate feeling as if my shoulders/arms/legs/abs all might die during a workout. But I do know that your metabolism is significantly higher when you have more muscle mass. The more muscle you build, the more calories your body burns even while resting. So, this is a goal I strive for constantly.

I’m just really glad that this process has noticeable results; it is nice to feel like all of that sweat really is fat crying.

2 thoughts on “Progress Report

  1. you’re actually a excellent webmaster. The web site loading pace is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you’ve
    performed a fantastic process in this matter!

  2. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting!
    I really enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.

    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the future.
    I want to encourage one to continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

Leave a Reply

