Chains Be Broken

chain breakerToday I am thankful for something for which I should always be thankful. Ezekiel 36:26 is my present moment favorite Scripture. “And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.”

Since moving to Indiana, I can’t even begin to count the things that I have endured, encountered, and executed that made my heart turn to stone. I willingly chose some tremendously dreadful paths. I ran head first into situations not knowing that they would be brick walls disguised behind a bed of flowers. I did not know that tragedy had not completed wreaking its havoc.

I’ve only known Indiana as my state of residence since 2009. It seems as though these past years have been punishment at times. Too many times I questioned whether or not God had chosen to leave me just as He found me. Some days I wondered if I could even call myself a Christian with the choices that I made.

Today I am thankful because I don’t have to have a heart of stone any longer. What I willfully hardened along the way wasn’t somehow impervious to the Spirit’s abilities to heal and transform. Just because I felt too far beyond salvation and grace, I realized that I wasn’t.

Thankfulness is abundant in this heart that has known too many desert songs. I have seen too many times, the oasis that turns out to be the mirage. I craft with my hands these plans and methods in hopes of short-circuiting God and getting things in my timing. And every time the dream dissipates at the touch of my hands, because the timing is wrong.

I am thankful that even my calloused selfish heart could start to feel the warmth of blood flow again. I can feel life returning to even the darkest spaces.

I am thankful because this once stony heart is beating vibrant in my chest. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

